Batting Gloves vs. Bare Hands

It is the age-old conflict for batters: batting gloves vs. bare hands. In my baseball career I have repeatedly transitioned from gloves to no gloves. The decision to use batting gloves is purely based on opinion; there is no science backing either side (to my knowledge), so it is just a preference.

Evoshield Batting Gloves

I have found that using new batting gloves combined with fresh tape on my bat and using pine tar provides the stickiest solution for swinging. But, when gloves become worn they lose their grip, so new gloves are required. I currently am using batting gloves but I buy a new pair for each season: spring, summer, fall, and winter. It is not the most frugal choice but it is just a preference that I use batting gloves.

With the number of swings I take each day, which is between 50-100, I use the gloves to protect my hands from sores or blisters that may occur. I also like gloves because they protect my hands when I am sliding on the base-paths. Diving headfirst on the infield dirt of a baseball field rips the skin from my hands; the gloves save my hands from unnecessary and uncomfortable wear and tear.

As I said earlier, I don’t use gloves if they become excessively worn and a new season has not yet started. The advantage of using bare hands is that there is no material separating the batter from the bat. However, frequent swinging without batting gloves leads to blisters and sore hands which painful and unnecessary. But, the choice is up to each and every baseball player in the world.

Jorge Posada Bare-hand Swing

Happy swingin’!

-Franco

This entry was posted in Baseball, Bats, batting gloves, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Batting Gloves vs. Bare Hands

  1. I thought I knew a lot there is to know about this thing, but seems we are never to old to learn..;)

Leave a Reply

